Legendary Director Bimal Roy: The Record Holder at Filmfare Awards

Death Anniversary: ​​The first film got the Cannes Award, 11 Filmfare Awards, such was the journey of Legendary Director Bimal Roy

The website discusses the prestigious Filmfare Awards for Best Director in the Hindi film industry. The director who holds the record for the most wins in this category is Bimal Roy, a legendary figure in Indian cinema. He has received a total of seven awards for his exceptional work in films like Do Bigha Zamin, Parineeta, Biraj Bahu, Devdas, Madhumati, Sujata, Parakh, and Bandini. Roy achieved the remarkable feat of winning the Best Director Award in three consecutive years, first from 1954 to 1956 for D Bigha Zamin, Parineeta, and Biraj Bahu, and then again from 1959 to 1961 for Madhumati, Sujata, and Parakh. His seventh and final honor came in 1964 for the movie Bandini.

The article also mentions other prominent directors who have been recognized at the Filmfare Awards. Sanjay Leela Bhansali has won five awards for films like Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, Devdas, Black, Bajirao Mastani, and Gangubai Kathiawadi. Yash Chopra and Raj Kapoor follow closely with four Best Director awards each.

It’s interesting to note that Yash Chopra holds the record for the most nominations in this category, with twelve in total. On the other hand, Rajkumar Hirani has only won one Best Director Award despite being nominated five times. Karan Johar has received two awards for Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and My Name Is Khan out of his five nominations.

In summary, Bimal Roy stands as the most awarded director in the history of Filmfare Awards, leaving an indelible mark on Indian cinema with his socially relevant and critically acclaimed films.

#BimalRoy #FilmfareAwards #IndianCinema #LegendaryDirector #FilmIndustry”

Leave a Comment